Jamie L. Watts

A fine WordPress.com site

Why Am I Taking IST 600 – Blogging for Information Professionals?

on May 19, 2013

About me:

My name is Jamie Watts and I’m currently entering my second year in the SU MLIS program. I was born and raised in the Albany area, graduated from Syracuse in 2005 with a Bachelor’s degree in Biology, and for the past 6 years have been working in the Human Resources department of a non-profit child welfare agency in New York City, where my main duty is conducting all background checks on the over 1000 employees the agency has, a job I sort of fell into after college.  Unhappy with the direction my career was headed, and after years of family and friends telling me libraries are where I needed to be, I finally took the leap and began the MLIS program at SU last summer. If I’m not working or studying you can usually find me doing one of five things:  shopping (I may have a slight addiction), knitting (I tend to carry my needles with me at all times), reading (I also carry a book everywhere), baking decorated sugar cookies (I seem to have unintentionally created a small side business of custom cookies), and running (ran my first marathon last fall and will be running the NYC marathon in November!).

Why IST 600?

Over the course of my first year in the MLIS program, one thing all of my professors have stressed is that librarianship of old no longer exists. Being a librarian in this day and age consists of a lot more than shelving books and answering reference questions for patrons, and a large part of that includes social media and creating an online presence. Many libraries today reach out to patrons via blogs, Facebook, Twitter and Youtube. In fact, I get most of my updates regarding NYPL from their Facebook page, and not from their website or emails. And while I definitely enjoy posting my vacation pictures to Facebook, blogging and Twitter seem to be a bit beyond my current skill set!  Classes such as this one, and Social Media in Libraries, will hopefully teach me the basic skills I need to create that online presence (things like how and what to post, how to promote the blog and most importantly, how to find people who actually want to read what I write!), leaving me with plenty to share with prospective employers when the time comes.

Additionally, as mentioned above, I seem to have created a small side business of custom cookies such as these:

388250_4500273543783_106644871_n

13125_4814497679190_708447929_n

Many of my cookie idols have blogs they use to showcase their designs and creations, as well as to sell their cookies, and should my “business” grow any larger, that is definitely something I would want to consider.

Blogging is something I’ve wanted to do for a long time, and this course will hopefully get me on the right track, both for my future career in libraries, as well as my possible future cookie business! And as a huge NunesMagician fan, I think I’m learning from the right person! I can’t wait to get started!

Leave a Reply

